Back to Boards

Saves


Saves

I'm confused about the rules for saves. In one of my private leagues, Bill Campbell came in with 2 outs in the 9th one game and a 3 run lead. He got the out, but didn't get the save. I looked some stuff up online and I'm pretty sure I read that a closer needs to work a full inning to be awarded the save.

A few games later, Campbell came in again for just 1/3 of an inning, but this time he WAS awarded the save. Not sure what the difference was between the two games without taking a closer look, but does anyone know the rule on this?

Thanks!

Re: Saves

I think the rule is worst case that the tying run has to be on deck or if you start the 9th inning with a 3 run lead or less. Also if you pitch 3 innings or more and don't give up the lead and finish out the game, you get a save.

Re: Saves

Right, the difference was when he got the save it was because there were runners on base.