Back to Boards

Actually really Dumb


Actually really Dumb

in the game below Putz takes the loss, because the runner he left on base scored the winning Run, BUT seeing how a 0-0 game was won 4-0 by a Grand Slam I kinda think the guy that gave up the Homer should really be the Loser. If there had been no on on when he hit that HR, it's still the game winning run.

https://www.pennantchase.com/lgBoxS..

Re: Actually really Dumb

When Putz leaves, the Eagles are expected to score 1.541 runs in the inning. Very fair to give him the loss, I say =)

Re: Re: Actually really Dumb

I don't disagree with the fact that 90% or more of the time Putz would get the Loss by virtue of leaving another RP in that situation, but in fairness, in this case, if no one had been on base, the loss would have been Boxberger's

Re: Actually really Dumb

Unfortunately the rule cant be situational. If the batter walked and one run scores, then the inning ends , it's no different. How about if the batter hit a pop up and the fielder dropped it? It's still on the pitcher who allowed the runner on base.
Thats the whole thing about grading a RP by how many inherited runners he allows to score. That will ell you how good he is under pressure.

Re: Actually really Dumb

Putz left the bases loaded…completely different pitching scenario when there is NO room for error.

Re: Re: Actually really Dumb

Good point Revejb, the actual situation wasn't the best example, better would be leadoff 1B, RP comes in gets a popup and a K then gives up a HR in a tie game