Back to Boards

scoring error


scoring error

how come Eddie Solomon doesn't show he threw a wild pitch?

https://www.pennantchase.com/lgBoxS..

Re: scoring error

It looks as if the wild pitch happened on ball four (and the runner was on 1st base, so he advanced on the walk).

Re: Re: scoring error

yup, you are correct, the base runner would have advanced at any rate

Re: scoring error

but because it was a wild pitch he would be free to advance to 3rd at his discretion. but why no wild pitch was credited to the pitcher i dont know, the official rule is kindy hazy on that

Re: Re: scoring error

No, it's not a wild pitch because the runner at 1st did not advance any further than 2nd base, where he would have gone anyway after the walk, so it's not considered a wild Pitch because no extra bases were a result of it.

If the base runner had been on 2nd and advanced to third, THEN it would count as a Wild pitch.