Back to Boards

How is this ruled ?


How is this ruled ?

Under the current extra innings rules. A pitcher pitches 9 innings retiring all 27 batters with no one getting on base but his team does not score so it go's to the 10th. The The pitcher is not tired so he stays in starts top of the 10th with a man on 2nd and the first batter grounds out but runner advances , 1 out man on 3rd. Next batter flys out but run scores , then next batter is retired. in bottom of tenth his team does not score. he gets 30 of 30 out but loses 1-0 ????? I say it's still a perfect game but he get's the loss !!!

Re: How is this ruled ?

I remember you posted this same comment about ten times last year. You’re right, that would suck. The ghost runner basically acts like an error. It’s unearned for the pitcher, but the run counts for the runner stats and the RBI counts for the hitter. So your troubled pitcher gets a no hitter, but I doubt they’d count it as a perfect game even though the pitcher was perfect. Let’s hope it doesn’t happen, and the ghost runner is supposedly gone next season.

Re: How is this ruled ?

(Using my best Steve Martin voice from the Jerk): He really hates that rule...