Back to Boards

extra inning rule question


extra inning rule question

Hi- can someone please tell me (in real-life baseball)... in extra innings, if the "automatic" runner on 2nd base at the start of the inning scores, how does that factor into other stats-

i.e. if Byron Buxton starts the inning on second, then scores on a Josh Donaldson base hit vs. John Means, does Means get tagged with an earned run on his pitching line? Does Donaldson get an RBI? Does Buxton get a run? Can't seem to locate this information online- thanks for any help

Re: extra inning rule question

Means gets an unearned run. Donaldson gets a hit and RBI. Buxton gets a run.

Means would also get a decision (and possibly a blown save) if they factored.

Re: Re: extra inning rule question

Great, thanks htennis :)

Re: extra inning rule question

This is why we now have the possibility that a pitcher could pitch a 10 inning perfect game and lose 1-0 as a result of 2 sac bunts.