Existing User? Login here!


Back to Boards

DH entering game


DH entering game

So.....admittedly the DH is always a bit tricky, rule wise, but I am having trouble wrapping my head around this game with regards to the DH.

Once a DH enters into the game defensively, the DH is lost, correct? So in this case they aren't simply interchangeable "positions," so to speak.

The DH cannot move from 1 spot in the order to another iirc. In this game, wouldn't the pitcher have to bat in the spot where Strawberry did?

https://www.pennantchase.com/lgBoxS..
I apologize in advance if I mucked it up.....I'm a National League guy.

Re: DH entering game

I believe that under no circumstances may the pitcher EVER bat in pennantchase

Re: DH entering game

If the DH moves to the field that's true, but that doesnt happen on PC. Strawberry ran for the catcher and then Bench hit for the DH, so PC was smart enough to make Bench the new catcher and Strawberry DH. So the DH (Molitor) never moved to the field. A new player came in as DH, just in different spot in order which is ok.

Re: Re: DH entering game

Yankeebb is 1 of the most knowledgeable owners in PC. So his word is Gold. If you notice a PH or PR come into a game usually you will see a DEf change to replace that player.
Of will not be manning SS or 2/B

Re: DH entering game

I understand the Pennant Chase "rules," and a P will never hit. But in real life bench PH for the DH, thus making him the DH. When he entered the game defensively, he became the C, so they lose the DH?

Re: Re: DH entering game

And just to be clear, this isn't a complaint AT ALL, just bringing it up for discussion.

Re: Re: DH entering game

It all happened in the same inning so the DH never technically became a fielder. If your backup 2B hits for your catcher and your backup catcher hits for your 2B the backup 2B never comes in to play catcher, they just take their normal positions. That's all that happened here. Your DH and C got replaced by a DH and C, it doesnt matter who hits or runs for who.

Re: DH entering game

Are you referring to Pennant Chase, or real life baseball? For PC I get it, but for real baseball that isn't the case.

Re: Re: DH entering game

Well yeah, I answered your PC question. But in real life, if the same thing happened, it's the same. It's only if someone who was listed as DH in the lineup then moves to the field. That didnt happen in your game. Molitor was DH and did not move to field. Bench pinch hit for the DH but he was never DH, when they took field he was C. In baseball when you pinch hit for someone you dont have to play their same position when you go on the field. Meanwhile Strawberry, who ran for the catcher, stayed in lineup but not in the field. He is the new DH. If he then plays in the field your pitcher batting situation comes up.

Re: DH entering game

Well, without sounding like a total jerk, I think I know real baseball just a bit, lol. And I could easily be wrong, but once you hit for the DH, you become the DH. The DH is NOT a defensive position, so swapping like that is not allowed. Least from my experience.

I'm not trying to be argumentative, but I guess I'm stubborn enough to not just assume someone knows the rules better than me without some reference to a rule.

From MLB. And again, I am not 100% certain on this.

A player who enters the game in place of the DH -- either as a pinch-hitter or a pinch-runner -- becomes the DH in his team's lineup thereafter.

If a player serving as the DH is later used on defense, he continues to bat in his same lineup spot. But for the rest of the game, his team cannot use a DH to bat in place of the pitcher.

Re: Re: DH entering game

Good call. Straight from Wikipedia:

Unlike other positions, the DH is "locked" into the batting order. No multiple substitution may be made to alter the batting rotation of the DH. In other words, a double switch involving the DH and a position player is not legal. For example, if the DH is batting fourth and the catcher is batting eighth, the manager cannot replace both players so as to have the new catcher bat fourth and the new DH bat eighth.



So yeah, PC allows it.

Re:DH entering game YBB

Now I have a question YBB
If your DH in the line up is say a 1st baseman and he come into the game for Def/injury replacement at 1st base. Would he move into the 1st baseman's spot in the BA or would the DH move to the 1st baseman spot in the order/
OR would the DH player never be allowed inbto the field?

Re: Re:DH entering game YBB

I've never seen DH move to field in a PC game.

Re: DH entering game

Re: Re: DH entering game

I think yankeeBB is correct, that's why if I only have 2 catchers (which is pretty much always)

I don't have one DH'ing while the other catches, because if my catcher gets hurt, I will end up with a back up outfielder catching, and it ain't gonna be pretty

Re: Re:DH entering game YBB

Good rule of thumb to remember is that once you enter the game, you won't switch line-up spots.

Once the DH comes into the game defensively, there is no more DH, and the P goes to the spot in the batting order of the person who came out.

Re: DH entering game

And no, that's not true. You can have your back up catcher at DH, but if the starter gets injured you'll lose the DH by moving the b/u C to that defensive position. You won't have an OF at C, you'll just lose the DH.

Re: Re: DH entering game

Not saying it CAN'T happen, but just 2 responses above mine a statement was made that the DH DOES NOT get moved to the field.

Also, I had it happen once and the DH who was also a catcher did NOT move to catcher, I only noticed it because in the box score the other team stole 9 bases against me.... last time BOTH my catchers were in the starting Line-up

Re: DH entering game

Iron, we're saying on PC it doesnt happen. You are talking about real life.

Re: Re: DH entering game

Correct. Sorry, all my comments regard to real life baseball unless I specifically reference(d) PC.