Back to Boards

Ricky Ricardo needs to know .....


Ricky Ricardo needs to know .....

I realize this is mostly baseball and basketball board but ive seen some hockey peeps on here and have a ?. There was a goal tonight in the rangers/penguins game where the nyr guy took a shot at point blank range , the goalie deflected it strait up and at the same time another ranger hit another penguin player into the net knocking it off its moorings. A split second later the puck came down and the tailing ranger hit it into the net which was already crooked off its pegs. The refs ruled it a goal. I thought that when the net was knocked off play was stopped , anybody else see this and know why its a goal. I dont care about either team just a hockey fan whos curious about the ruling. Ben watching since 1979 and never saw a play like this

Re: Ricky Ricardo needs to know .....

Rule 63.7: “In order to award a goal in this situation, the goalpost must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the attacking player must have an imminent scoring opportunity prior to the goalpost being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goalposts.”

I think it's that one you are talking about.

Re: Re: Ricky Ricardo needs to know ..

GO BRUINS !!! Series tied up! Dont poke the Bear!

Re: Ricky Ricardo needs to know ..

The defending player was pushed into the net by the rangers but there is probably more in that rule i guess